Global Climate Change Alliance (GCCA)

Adaptation, Mitigation, REDD+
Method of Support
Eligible Countries
Least Developed Countries and Small Island Developing States that are recipients of official development assistance
Funds Pledged
US 326.15 million
Funds Received
USD 326.15 million
Funds Approved
USD 347.07 million
Source: Climate Funds Update – the latest information on climate funds. “Status of Funds table.” (As of Oct 2016)
TIPS by USAID Adapt Asia-Pacific

Getting in touch with and speaking to your local European Union contact on your priority climate change projects, particularly in the agricultural sector, is a good starting point for understanding and accessing their funding sources.

You could also make contact with relevant regional organizations implementing GCCA programs in Asia-Pacific. They include: the Mekong River Commission (MRC); the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC); the Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP); and the University of the South Pacific (USP).

The Global Climate Change Alliance (GCCA+) is an initiative of the European Union. Its overall objective is to build a new alliance on climate change between the European Union and the poor developing countries that are most affected and have the least capacity to deal with climate change. The GCCA has not set up a new fund or governance structure, but rather works through the European Commission’s established channels for political dialogue and cooperation at the national and international levels.
Target area
The GCCA provides support for five priority areas: integrating climate change into poverty reduction efforts; supporting climate change adaptation; reducing emissions from deforestation; enhancing participation in clean development mechanisms; and promoting disaster risk reduction. The GCCA also supports regional programs to complement existing country programs in areas such as capacity building, applied research and technical assistance, and country-to-country experience sharing.
How to access the fund
Governments of Least Developed Countries and Small Island Developing States interested in receiving GCCA funds can send an official expression of interest to the European Union delegation in their home country. The European Union Delegation, in collaboration with the European Commission’s headquarters, will check if the partner country meets the selection criteria for GCCA funding and whether funds are available. Funds are allocated to countries based on availability of financial and technical resources and on population figures. If there is no funding, countries may be put on a ‘waiting list’ until new funding becomes available. 
Approval process

An assessment is made of each country’s vulnerability to climate change, in particular the risks related to floods, droughts, storms, sea level rise, glacier melting and other impacts, taking into account the proportion of the population at risk. The importance of the agricultural sector, which is regarded by the GCCA as one of the most sensitive to climate change, is also included in this assessment. The assessment incorporates an estimate of the country’s adaptive capacity using the United Nations Development Programme Human Development Index. Eligible countries are also assessed on how engaged they are in regional and international dialogue on climate change. 

Key documents
GCCA Factsheet1.97 MB
GCCA Beneficiary Countries 2008-1077.04 KB